Surgeries:
Mon, Tues and Thurs: 8 am–12.30 pm and 2–6 pm, Weds and Fri: 8 am–2 pm

Alopecia

Hormone & metabolism centre in Mainz: information about hair loss
Alopecia as a consequence of hormone disorders and other causes

Hair loss is a frequent and onerous symptom for the individual patient and has a multitude of different causes. It is important to know that hair loss usually only occurs three months after the hair roots have been damaged.

A distinction is made between Jonston’s alopecia and diffuse hair loss. Jonston’s alopecia is usually due to negative stress and is an autoimmune disease of the hair roots. It is not caused by a hormone disorder. However, concomitant hormone disorders are often found in patients with Jonston’s alopecia or total hair loss.

Diffuse alopecia can be stress-related, diet-related or caused by medication. Hair loss is also caused by a hormone disorder, primarily a thyroid gland dysfunction. Both hyperthyroidism and hypothyroidism can cause hair loss. Androgenetic alopecia is caused by an overhang of male hormones in females, and is physiological in males. It can be treated with anti-androgenic drugs.

Downloads
Allgemein
Anamnesebögen
Videos
Doctolib
Termin online vereinbarenHier klicken

Terminsprechstunden:
Mo, Di, Do: 8 -12.30 Uhr u. 14 - 18.00 Uhr - Mi u. Fr. 8 - 14.00 Uhr

Alopecien

Haarausfall ist ein häufiges und für den individuellen Patienten belastendes Symptom mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Ursachen. Wichtig ist zu wissen, dass Haarausfall sich meistens erst drei Monate nach der Schädigung der Haarwurzeln entwickelt.

Man unterscheidet den kreisrunden und diffusen Haarausfall. Der kreisrunde Haarausfall ist meist bedingt durch negativen Stress und ist eine Autoimmunerkrankung der Haarwurzeln und nicht verursacht durch eine Hormonstörung. Häufig finden sich aber begleitende Hormonstörungen bei Patienten mit kreisrunden oder totalem Haarausfall.

Die diffuse Alopecie kann stressbedingt, ernährungsbedingt oder medikamentös verursacht sein. Auch durch eine Hormonstörung entsteht Haarausfall, an erster Stelle die Störung der Schilddrüsenfunktion sowohl über als Unterfunktion der Schilddrüse können Haarausfall verursachen. Die androgenetische Alopecie entsteht durch ein zu viel von männlichen Hormonen bei der Frau und ist beim Mann physiologisch. Diese lässt sich durch anti-androgene Medikamente behandeln.

Videos